Stir-Fry Time!

Stir-fries are one of my favourite meals. They are so versatile and you can literally chuck anything you have in the fridge into them. If you can remember, when I first moved into my house I pre-prepared loads of meat so I actually have bags of beef and pork cut into slices, ready to be thrown into the wok (my flatmate let me use her wok, hoorah!)

So, today’s stir fry is going to be nice simple as I was hungry and I haven’t done a shop for fresh veg for a while so this is just using up what is left! I was also cooking for my friend too – the one who so kindly lent the wok – as we were pooling vegetables!

stirfry-640x360


  • Beef strips (for one portion, mine weighs 50g but I just chopped up a cheap steak and split it into bags by sight so just do however much you feel comfortable eating)
  • Carrot, sliced
  • Red and orange pepper, sliced
  • Red onion, sliced
  • Broccoli florets
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 1 tbsp dark soy sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp sweet chilli sauce
  • Oil cooking spray
  • Rice to serve

Spray the pan with cooking spray and stir fry the beef for 2-3 minutes. Transfer to a plate.

Fry the onions, peppers, broccoli and carrot together with the ginger and curry powder (add a splash of water to stop the spices sticking and burning) until they start to soften then add the soy and chilli sauce. Fry for another minute then add the beef back in.

Meanwhile, cook the rice as it says on the packet (put into boiling water and leave for 12-15 minutes generally). Once it’s are cooked, drain it  and serve!

As you can see, it is very easy and this is a great recipe. In total, it will cost about £1.20 which I think is pretty fair! You can serve it with noodles instead of rice if you fancy. I hope this has inspired you, have a great day!

One thought on “Stir-Fry Time!

Comments are closed.