Roast Dinner for One…

As sad and lonely as the title of the post sounds, it will possibly be the (early) highlight of my week. One of the things I miss most about being at home is having Sunday roast. Without fail, every week my family will have a roast dinner with all the trimmings; at least four vegetables, roast potatoes, mash, yorkshire pudding, gravy and of course some sort of meat (and stuffing if it is roast chicken). Managing all of this for one person is a) a little depressing and b) a lot of hard work when you have no-one to share it with.

Normally, if I can go without a roast dinner no longer I grab a chicken breast, whip up some instant mash and serve it with some sweetcorn, a yorkshire pudding and some gravy. Not forgetting the stuffing, of course. This is generally pretty great. But sometimes, I just fancy a little bit more. Like this week. And what I ended up with was definitely worth the little bit of effort that it required.

So what did I have?

  • Chicken breast
  • Roast potatoes
  • Carrot and swede mash
  • Roast carrots and parsnips
  • Sweetcorn
  • Cabbage
  • Yorkshire pudding
  • Stuffing
  • Gravy

Sound great or what? So the chicken breast took about 20 minutes to cook in the oven. The roasties needed 15 minutes to part boil and then 20 min in the oven. My carrot and swede mash was made from a mixture of frozen packets – one of the few things I find easier to use shop bought – so took about 5 minutes in the microwave. Sweetcorn took about 1 minute in the microwave. The carrots and parsnips were fresh and I just cut them into strips, squirted a bit of honey over them and shoved them on the tray with the potatoes. Cabbage was boiled so took a while but I just left it on the hob whilst doing everything else. Yorkshire pudding was Aunt Bessie’s – because why bother making your own when you know Aunt Bessie’s will be better – and they take a few minutes to cook in the oven. I always treat myself to Tesco finest stuffing because I can and that takes about 20 minutes to do. My gravy was instant chicken gravy and that took as long as it takes to boil a kettle.

14642815_1373783362645478_1262359159_n

As you can see, not a lot of work really went into this. It is the sort of thing that any one, even a student, can manage. Just over half hour for a full roast dinner… I think that’s pretty okay. Have a great day!

One thought on “Roast Dinner for One…

  1. Pingback: The Challenge of an Awkward Timetable – Tea-time at Uni

Comments are closed.