Super Easy Stuffed Peppers

You may remember that a few weeks ago I made a pair of stuffed peppers for my dinner. They tasted surprisingly great, especially since I was making the recipe up as I went along! Most of the time, I have recipes for what I cook or at least have made it so often that I know exactly what goes in something. Before this attempt, I had never made stuffed peppers before in my life. So, in true student fashion, I decided to make it up as I went along. I am now going to try and remember what I put in them so you can have a go too!

wp_20161005_001

  • 1 small red onion, diced
  • Handful of cherry tomatoes, chopped
  • Handful of rice
  • approx. 200ml stock
  • approx. 1tsp cumin and coriander
  • approx. 1/2tsp chilli
  • 25g grated cheese
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 orange peppers

Off the top of my head, I think this is probably what I put in there. The amount of spices may be slightly out as I just sprinkled them in until I thought there was enough and I can’t be specific with the amount of rice as I really don’t weigh it out.

So, what I did was spray the pan with oil and start frying the onions. After a few minutes I added in the rice and then poured enough of the stock over it to cover the rice. When the rice had absorbed the liquid, I added a little more and kept doing this – like I would when making a risotto. I chucked in the chopped cherry tomatoes (used because I had some in my cupboard that needed eating) and sprinkled the spices in & seasoned. When the rice was almost cooked I added the cheese and took the pan off the heat.

I then shoved all of this mixture into the hollowed out peppers and shoved them into the oven until the peppers looked soft. At that point, I took them out and ate them.

Clearly this isn’t a very specific recipe but I hope it can give you some inspiration as to how you can try something similar yourself. I think this goes to show that chucking stuff in a pan really can work and you don’t need any real knowledge to make something that tastes great. Next time I would serve it with more salad than just cucumber, but as I think I’ve said I was running low on fresh food so I had to make do. I reckon this probably cost me about £1.50 to make so pretty cheap too – the cherry tomatoes by far being the most expensive part to this dish!

All the best and have a great day!

