Finally It’s Over….

Finally, it is the weekend! I am so happy because this week feels like it has gone so slowly. Lots of exciting things to look forward to in the next week though. “Class” goes live on BBC3 tomorrow (it is the new Dr Who spin off, for those that don’t know), I am planning on taking a trip to the beach on Sunday and my sister is coming down to visit for a few days as it is her half term holidays. She is having to put up with me disappearing for a few hours here and there – sadly it isn’t my half term – but I’ve got some fun things planned so it’ll be great. Also, there is gonna be a lot of baking so I will be sure to share that with you too! Oh, and of course the final of the GBBO which is going to be great – poor Selassi :(.

So, my meals last week were pretty good. There is a little more colour in my meals (mainly because I put cucumber with everything XD) but I must say I am not convinced by red cabbage. I did what it said in my recipe book (5tbsp of stock and 3tbsp of white wine vinegar after frying the cabbage for a bit) and it just sort of tasted like sharp beetroot… I will have to see if I can find a better way to eat it.

oct-17

  • Saturday: Beef stir fry and noodles
  • Sunday: BBQ chicken drumsticks, sweet potato chips and coleslaw
  • Monday: “Jungle Curry”
  • Tuesday: Sweet potato, carrot and potato tagine
  • Wednesday: Carrot and potato rosti with poached egg and baked beans
  • Thursday: Tuna and sweetcorn pasta bake
  • Friday: Chicken, mash and red cabbage

In other news, my friend in York had a good ol’ chit chat with the President of the Royal Society of Chemistry yesterday morning before her lecture with him which may or may not sound like a big deal but we were both rather excited by that!

My recipes of the week were soup and stuffed peppers so please go check those out if you haven’t already. All the best and have a great day!

2 thoughts on “Finally It’s Over….

  1. Hi Nicola,

    Since having it once in the Lake District, served with Rainbow Trout and New Potatoes, I’ve always preferred Red Cabbage if it has been gently braised in about a wine glass of cider.

    Put the thinly sliced cabbage in a pot, sprinkle over a teaspoon of sugar, add the cider and gently heat until the cabbage is tender, but still slightly crunchy. Strain off the cooking liquid and serve. Yummy

    Like

Comments are closed.