Jolly Girl’s Outing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A few weeks back, I decided to take a trip down to Margate. Like most Sunday mornings this time of year it was a little bit chilly so I wrapped up and, brandishing my kindle and a flask of soup, I hopped on the bus. Having only ever seen Margate on the telly (Only Fools and Horses being a large part of my childhood!) I was actually pleasantly surprised. I had a short wander through the town but spent most of my morning there on the beach just reading to the soundtrack of the sea.

I made my soup – “chicken and sweetcorn” – when I first woke up on the Sunday, since it literally takes only a few minutes. Sometimes I will put chicken in it but could I be bothered at 8.30 in the morning? Noooo. The “flavour” of chicken instead comes from 800ml of chicken stock which is then just poured into a pan with a can of creamed corn. I kid you not, that is all I used. I put the rest in a box in the fridge and it lasted another few days.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I arrived, I was surprised to see people riding bikes around on the sand – apparently it was a competition that I just stumbled upon. In all honesty, it was actually quite interesting to sit there and watch as they tried to jump the bumps in the sand and not fall off their bikes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I walked around the town I was greeted by many AMAZING smelling fish and chip shops, but somehow I managed to hold myself back and left without forking out for a portion of chips. Maybe next time!

The trip out of Canterbury did me good though. It was great to just get out of my house for a little while and have some fresh air even if it was only for two hours. The best thing about this trip was the fact that, because I have a special uni bus-pass that lets me get on any stagecoach bus in Kent and East Sussex, the trip down there was totally free! How is that for a student bargain! Have a great day!

One thought on “Jolly Girl’s Outing

Comments are closed.