Cold Weather Means Comfort Food

Does November officially count as winter? I don’t know, but I can say that the last few weeks have certainly been feeling like it. The leaves are still on the trees but it is dark and cold. Really cold. Everyone is getting sick – myself included – and, as much as I might hate it, the count down to Christmas has begun. At least I have so far been lucky enough to avoid the Christmas songs. They shouldn’t start til Dec 1st at the earliest but does that stop shops… Of course not.

Anyway, I digress. What I mean is that as the year draws to a close, it is time to pull out the comfort food. Don’t let these words strike fear in to your soul though! Comfort food doesn’t have to mean loads of calories, fats or sugars.

  1. Fish finger sandwich: To be honest, nothing can beat a fish finger sandwich. It’s fast, filling and cheap. Whilst I have found that Tesco’s own fish fingers are actually great, nothing can beat Birds Eye. So, fish fingers, ketchup, brown bread. No butter. Perfect. To make an ultimate fish finger sandwich: add chips and baked beans.
  2. Soup: I absolutely love soup in the winter. When it is cold and miserable, nothing warms me more than a good bowl of soup and a crunchy bread roll. Any type of soup, so long as it is warm and yummy. This week I have had curried carrot and potato, and next week I am going to make a good ol’ fashioned tomato soup. The best thing about soup is that it is cheap, and healthy. Really you can’t lose.
  3. Curry: I often crave chicken curry. With naan bread, mango chutney, bombay potatoes, cucumber raita… It just makes me so happy.
  4. Waffles, Pancakes and Cheesecake: Everyone has their favourite sweet comfort food. These are mine. Cheesecake (as you probably know) is my ultimate favourite dessert. I don’t often eat these in the winter, though. If I want a comfort desert, I will go for Sticky Toffee Pudding and Custard. Or just custard on its own!

There are so many other foods that make me happy. But these are definitely at the top of my list. When I asked my flat-mate Steph what her ultimate comfort food was, her reply was “all food makes me happy”. Now you can’t really say much fairer than that, can you? Have a great day!

