Soup II

I find that I often want nothing more than a warm bowl of soup when it is cold and raining outside so here are two great recipes for quick and tasty soups!

 Tomato Soup

  • 1kg tomatoes
  • 500g red onions
  • balsamic vinegar
  • olive oil
  • 750ml vegetable stock
  • salt and pepper

 Curried Carrot Soup

  • 5/6 normal sized carrots
  • 2 large potatoes
  • 750ml stock
  • 2tsp cumin/coriander
  • 1/2tsp chili powder
  • salt and pepper

 Preheat the oven to 180C.

Quarter the tomatoes and onions and put on a baking tray. Drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar then season with salt and pepper. Cook for ~10 minutes or until the tomatoes have gone soft.

Take out the tray and leave the tomatoes and onions to cool for a little bit. When cool enough to handle, skin the tomatoes and then put into a pot/pan on the hob with the onions and vegetable stock.

Bring to the boil and then lower the heat and leave to cook for 15 minutes. Blend until smooth and serve hot.

Chop the carrots and potato into chunks. Put into a pot on the hob and cover with stock.

Sprinkle the spices in (more or less can be added if you like. I think I also threw in a tad of turmeric, possibly some garam masala and I may even have thrown in a tiny bit of ginger because why the hell not, right?!)

Make sure it is all mixed, season and then leave to boil away until the potatoes and the carrots are soft.

Leave to cool a little bit then blend and serve hot.

I recommend a nice crusty bread roll or chunk of french stick to go with your soup. If I know I am having soup during the week I will get a set of part-bake rolls or something similar (generally ~60p, which will do 4 lunches). For more soup recipes, have a look at my first soup-er post here. My carrot soup looks a little clumpy – it was, so before I put it into a pot to store it, I just mixed in a little more water and it was much better after that. Anyway, have a great day!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

