And The Answer Is: 42

As reassuring as it may or may not be to know that 42 is the meaning of life (the universe and everything) it is slightly scary to think that there are only that many days left of 2016. Time really is just slipping away this year! Anyway, let’s focus on the positives. This week I handed in my first and last case note for my law module (which I am so glad to see the back of), went to a talk by a bomb disposal expert, spent my evening helping out at a talent show for Children in Need and painting Pudsey on many peoples’ faces, stood outside our campus shop (in the cold) collecting change for Children in Need and watched the appeal show of Children in Need. bbccin_corelogo_port_rgb_pos_pudIf you hadn’t guessed, we were supporting Children in Need this week. If you haven’t donated, I implore you to. It really is a great charity and I hope it continues the great work of the dearly missed Terry Wogan for many many years to come.

Monday was also my friend’s birthday (she is now 20 and can no longer claim to not be an adult on account of being a “teenager”!) and for her presents I sent her some pringles (I really considered showing the world the gorgeous photo she sent me but I don’t think I’d ever be forgiven for sharing that with other people XD), a bar of galaxy chocolate and a little statue for her room. Whatever else would a student want? I also filled the box and card with confetti in the shape of “k”. For reference, when we studied A-Level chemistry, there was a constant relating to equilibrium that really wasn’t a constant at all. This understandably annoyed Isobel and she has never forgiven the letter so in true friendship I figured I’d treat her and shower her with tiny letter “k’s” as a special birthday gesture. To say she appreciated it may be an understatement.

Apart from that, it has been a pretty average week. Last weekend my flatmates and I played around in the garden waving sparklers around for best part of an hour. We won’t win the Turner Prize for our pictures but we certainly had fun trying to make words!

Anyway, food wise this week I actually had some really interesting food. Being in our campus bar for two nights this week due to Children in Need fundraisers meant I got a inventive with my cold “snack” dinners – I certainly wasn’t going to pay for dinner there, it is neither cheap nor healthy!nov12

  • Saturday: Potato “Lasagne” (potato, chicken, spinach layered in a dish with tomato sauce and cheese like lasagne)
  • Sunday: Satay inspired stir fry
  • Monday: Cold lamb kebab and salad in pitta bread
  • Tuesday: Cold rice and veggies
  • Wednesday: Veggie curry with naan bread
  • Thursday: Spicy beef with peppers, lettuce and pitta bread
  • Friday: Paella

Next weekend I am up to Liverpool for a really exciting set of tours and talks about pathology and all manner of other forensic disciplines. We are going to get a private tour around a morgue too. Oh yeah. Getting up there ended up being a lot cheaper than I expected as our amazing lecturer is driving us up on the uni minibus so we are all just splitting the petrol money! I’ve booked a bed in a YHA hostel one night and am staying with family the second night making accommodation much cheaper than the other options too so it is all very exciting! I will make sure to tell you all about it! Have a great day!

