Welcoming the Year of the Rooster!

Today marks the beginning of the Chinese new year! Whilst far from an expert on Chinese food and culture, I can honestly say that my family and I are partial to a good Chinese any day. I wish I could go in to London to be around for the celebrations that I am sure will be going on but, because I can’t, I am instead going to celebrate by sharing with you a couple of my favourite, inspired dishes:

  • Pork Stir fry – there is something about this combination of ingredients that reminds me of a dish I have eaten somewhere else, but I still can’t place. I’ve tried, honest, I just have no idea where I have eaten this before! Even so, that doesn’t stop me from enjoying this. For one person use: 1tsp ginger, 1tbsp light soy sauce, 1/2tbsp rice wine, 1/2 tbsp umami paste, 1tsp sesame oil, 1/2tbsp honey. Mix these together, marinade the pork in it for at least 2 hours (for me alone, I use probably about 75g-100g of meat) and then just chuck it all in to a pan with some veggies. Serve with noodles or rice.
  • Chicken and Mushroom – it’s funny, I don’t really eat mushrooms but this is almost always my favourite dish from our local takeaway. I don’t eat the mushrooms they put it in either, but I just love the gentle flavour to the sauce. For one person use: 1tbsp light soy sauce, 1/2tsp sesame oil, 1tsp rice wine, pinch of sugar, 70ml chicken stock. Fry some chicken, onion and carrot together for a few minutes (and mushrooms if using them!) then when the chicken starts to brown add in the combination of sauces. Let the stock reduce down a little bit then serve with rice or noodles. Easy.

I hope you enjoy these recipes! Have a great day!

