Below the Line

In a few weeks’ time, I am putting myself through a personal week of Hell in aid of my fundraising for ICS and Y Care International. I’ve been thinking about it recently and I have decided to really go for it (as if I wasn’t already by giving up the things I love most). Instead of giving up my control over food, I am instead going to keep control but limit myself to the £5 challenge. What this means is that for 5 days during my week I will be living on just £5 – which is below the poverty line.

In Sierra Leone, estimates vary since data is hard to come by but between 50 and 80% of people are living in extreme poverty. Here in the UK, as many as 1 in 5 people could also be living on less than £1 a day. Globally, 1.4 billion people are estimated to be living in poverty. In 2017, this just sounds totally wrong.

I can’t imagine what it is like living on such a knife edge; I’ve always been lucky. My parents were able to feed us, clothe us and take us on exciting holidays and trips around the world. At university on my own, I am lucky enough to have a large student loan/grant and a bursary which allow me to be totally independent and in control of my finances. That stability makes it nearly impossible for me to imagine the hardships that other people around the world have to endure.

That is partially why I want to do this £5 challenge. I want to experience the struggle, but that in itself feels selfish. My £5 is paying only for my food. I don’t have to worry about the rent, or the bills or any of the other additional things that people truly below the poverty line have to find money to afford. My challenge will be no comparison, but I don’t think that is the point. What I am trying to do, along with so many other people, is just raise awareness.

Y Care International works with young people in poverty, helping them to work their way out of these conditions. Young people get a lot of schtick in the press but we are the future and we do have the power to change our lives and the lives of those around us in our communities and across the world. I despair at the state of the world quite a lot, but I am truly optimistic that things can and will change for the better.

I hope that by giving up the luxuries that I see as my necessities, things that I struggle to live without in my privileged life, you might just donate to my fundraising and help to make a difference to the lives of so many others. When there are somehow managing to live on a pound a day, the few pounds that you could donate will make a huge difference to the projects being funded by the ICS partners.

I will be posting daily updates during my challenge so you can read all about it. Thank you. Please donate whatever you can on my fundraising page: www.justgiving.com/nicola-sadler2

